Full Circle…

Over the past week or so i’ve been pulling many boxes out the cupboard and digging through my archive… looking at old prints and contact sheets, some of which i haven’t seen for many years. Lots of memories and a few surprises too.

It’s all in preparation for my upcoming talk ‘ Transition – from London to the Bush’ at the Head On seminar weekend. It’s been an enjoyable experience rediscovering old work. It’s seems a shame that so many years work, so many prints must live hidden away in darkness and isolation… Maybe one day i’ll do an exhibition of everything, just thumb tacked to the walls…

The image below is one of my earliest and still a favourite. Uma asked me if i did it on Photoshop… none of that! This was in the 80’s… way before my first Mac. Darkroom days & nights,  chemicals,  experimentation, mistakes…  It taught me early on the magic of the ‘happy accident’, which for me is at the core of what makes photography so special.

Will, shot on Polaroid Type 55 plus some darkroom shenanigans… London 1989 © Sam Harris

Another blast from the past was pulling out a box of my first session with Beth Orton. I worked with Beth several times, always good fun and inspirational… During my talk i’ll be dedicating some time to showing lots of images from our various sessions in London and the US…

Beth Orton – in her London flat  1997        © Sam Harris

Both my talks are on Saturday 14th May at Sydney’s National Art School, Darlinghurst. At 11 am i’ll be joining photographers Tony Mott (who’s toured with the Stones, Dylan and McCartney to name just a few),  Sophie Howarth (she’s been covering The Big Day Out since it started) and the gallerist Tali Udovich for a panel discussion…Should be fun! I’m looking forward to meeting them all and hearing some of their stories…  My ‘Transition’ talk will be at 2pm…

2 thoughts on “Full Circle…

  1. ric matthews

    Shalom Sam!

    Will has just forwarded some of your stuff to me and I must say that I am gob smacked by the massive advances you have made with your art and in your career. I would enjoy sharing with you some of the work I have been doing recently since I returned to the “Green and pleasant Land”. I have been searching for your email address in vain, so would you be so kind as to send it to me.

    Best wishes,

    Ric

    Reply
    1. samharrisphoto Post author

      Hey Ric

      how nice to hear from you! thanks so much for your comments. It means a lot to me. As you may know your encouragement and creative energy played a big part in starting me off in the right direction. So it’s a nice piece of serendipity that we ‘meet’ again on this blog post ‘full circle’…

      my e-mail is samharris.photo@gmail.com

      I look forward to catching up and seeing some of your work.

      All the best

      Sam

      Reply

Leave a Reply

