BURN DIARY

Last week i was invited to shoot for Burn Diary over on Instagram. Burn Diary is the Instagram feed featured by Burn Magazine.  One photographer takes over for 7 days from anywhere in the world and is given total freedom to shoot whatever they want. I had a lot of fun shooting from home. I also felt the pressure!. I shoot all the time, so there is no issue with that, but the fast editing and decision-making is quite different to my regular work flow. I can always edit other people’s work quite easily but with my own work it’s not so simple… These days i tend to shoot for months without ever reviewing (or even thinking about) what i’ve got. Then when i feel the time is right, i’ll spend a few weeks going over all my material. I enjoy the distance this creates between myself and my work, it helps me to be more objective and less attached. Of course this is not the case shooting and posting on Instagram which is quite spontaneous and fast, but i would not normally post more than 3 images in a week. Burn Diary’s only requirement is that you post a minimum of two images every 24 hours. So it kept me pretty busy…

Below are my favorite images from my week in the hot seat.

Photo © Sam Harris

Photo © Sam Harris

Photo © Sam Harris

Photo © Sam Harris

20140319_8232

Photo © Sam Harris

Uma washing line 2 lo res

Photo © Sam Harris

Photo © Sam Harris

Photo © Sam Harris

Photo © Sam Harris

Photo © Sam Harris

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

